skip to Main Content
Sixteen Earn All-State Bowling Honors

Jackson High School bowler Caleb Tate selected to Division 1 Second Team.  Photo by Jeff Steers, JTV Sports.

By Jeff Steers
JTV Sports

(March 17, 2020 9:58 PM) Members of the Michigan High School Interscholastic Bowling Coaches Association agree that some of the best high school bowlers in the state reside from the Jackson Area.

The coaches voted 16 bowlers as first or second team members.

Jackson area bowlers won two team titles and two individual title nearly 10 days ago at the Michigan High School Athletic Association bowling finals at various locations around the state.

Northwest High School won the MHSAA Division 2 boys’ team title at Waterford. The Mounties were the No. 2 seeds following qualifying. Northwest defeated Cadillac by 20 pins in the finals.

Grass Lake High School easily won the Division 4 boys’ team title in Lansing. The Warriors were the top qualifying team and won three matches for the school’s second boys’ bowling title.

East Jackson High School advanced to the final four in Division 4 girls’ team bowling and Manchester made the final four in boys’ Division 4 team bowling.

Logan Teubert of Jonesville High School won the MHSAA individual title in Division 3. Teubert was the No. 10 seed following qualifying, but won four matches to take the title.

Hanover-Horton High School junior Kassidy Alexander won the Division 4 individual title. She was the No. 3 seed following qualifying. Alexander rolled games of 191 and 180 in the finals to win by seven pins.

Here is the list of all-state bowlers as voted by the MHSIBCA.

All-state bowlers from the Jackson area

Boys’ Division 1, second team: Caleb Tate, Jackson High School.

Boys Division 2, first team: Brayden Metcalf, Northwest High School.

Boys’ Division 2, second team: Ryan Wennman, Northwest High School, Cody Hall, Northwest High School.

Girls’ Division 2, first team: Kaylee Hall, Northwest High School.

Boys’ Division 3, first team: Logan Teubert, Jonesville High School; Brandon Teddy, Napoleon High School.

Boys’ Division 3, second team: Alexander Bumpus, Jonesville High School.

Girls’ Division 3, first team: Karissa Manifold, Hillsdale High School.

Boys’ Division 4, first team: Jack Schultz, Grass Lake High School; Deven Warner, Homer High School; Sean Wyers, Grass Lake High School.

Girls’ Division 4, first team: Kassidy Alexander, Hanover-Horton High School; Savannah Donnersbach, Lumen Christi Catholic High School; Arielle Oakley, Vandercook Lake High School.

Girls’ Division 4, second team: Taylor Mosher, Grass Lake High School.

Contact JTV News.  Do you have information or news to share?  Do you have any questions or do you need resources? 

  • (PDF, image, Word, flyer, etc.)
Back To Top
×Close search