skip to Main Content

Hole #17 at the Country Club of Jackson.

(September 17, 2023 9:23 PM ET) The Country Club of Jackson will welcome many of the top golfers in the state for the 10th Golf Association of Michigan Four-Ball Championship presented by BOYNE Golf Monday, Sept. 18. 

  A field of 70 two-golfer teams with combined GAM/USGA Handicap Indexes under 10.8 will compete in the 18-hole best-ball competition. 

  Country Club of Jackson, which dates to 1898 and was officially founded as a golf club in 1926, features an original 18 holes designed by Arthur Hamm, who worked as a field supervisor of legend Donald Ross. It also has nine additional holes designed by Arthur Hills and those holes opened in 1992. 

  The rich tournament tradition of the club includes hosting seven Michigan Amateur championships with the most recent one in 2002. Michigan Golf Hall of Fame legends Chuck Kocsis and Glenn Johnson were state champions at CC of Jackson. The Michigan Women’s Amateur, the GAM Championship and several other tournaments have been hosted by the club over the years, which has also hosted the GAM Four-Ball Championship previously as well, the most recent being the 2021 tournament. 

  Dave Hill, the late PGA Tour standout from Jackson, caddied at the club as a youngster and later was a member. He set a course record of 12-under 60 in 1974. Former LPGA player and Michigan Golf Hall of Fame member Elaine Crosby and three-time Michigan Amateur champion Steve Maddalena are current members. 

  Michigan Golf Hall of Fame member Ron Beurmann is the head golf professional, and the superintendent is Ian Daniels. More information on CC of Jackson can be found at countryclubofjackson.com 

   The 70 teams will be split between a morning wave of tee times and an afternoon wave of tee times. Winners and runners-up are determined in each wave, and a card playoff will decide any ties between the waves in determining an overall winner for the championship. 

  Last year at Oakhurst Golf & Country Club Jason Kalo of Lowell and Mike Coriasso of Royal Oak combined for a 7-under 65 in the morning wave and took overall title. Jack Versau of Portage and Nick Carbary of Kalamazoo, 2019 overall champions, won the afternoon wave with a 67. Both teams are entered again this year.

Back To Top